Board of Directors

The REACH Foundation is governed by a 17-member Board that ensures the Foundation fulfills its mission and purpose, and uses its resources to advance the health of underserved people.

The REACH Foundation is governed by a 17-member Board of Directors that has primary responsibility for determining the mission and vision of the organization, setting strategic direction, and ensuring the Foundation meets its legal, financial and community investment responsibilities as described in Board policy.

The Foundation believes that its effectiveness is enhanced when individuals with diverse backgrounds and perspectives are engaged throughout the organization. It believes that a more diverse philanthropic community, and one that reaches out to all, will result in richer and more responsive philanthropy that better meets the needs of the community. Toward that end, REACH is fully committed to pursuing a governing body, workforce, grantees and community partners that include individuals of diverse backgrounds, beliefs and perspectives. In selecting directors, the REACH Board strives to select members who reflect the socioeconomic, racial, ethnic and geographic diversity of our service area. (See Foundation Diversity and Inclusion Policy)

Selection Process

Nominees to the REACH Board can be identified in several ways. At the time of the Foundation’s formation, a Community Advisory Committee (CAC) was established to ensure broad community participation on the REACH Board. The CAC’s role is to identify candidates with community and board experience, and an understanding of and commitment to community health issues. Board members also are encouraged to seek out potential applicants, and the Foundation issues an annual notice of the application process and timeline.


The next application deadline is December 14, 2017. The selection process will be completed in March 2018 and board terms will begin in June 2018. Interested individuals must complete a Statement of Interest Form. Applicants are encouraged to review the Directors Qualification Requirements prior to completing the form.

For additional information, contact Brenda Sharpe, President and Chief Executive Officer, (913) 432-4196.

Roles & Responsibilities

Board of Directors

Dana Abraham


Laura Bond, Esq.

At-Large Member

JC Cowden, M.D.

Vice Chair

Linda Hall


Angela Harse


Vicki Hohenstein


Andrew Klocke


Jon Marshall


Raymond Rico, Esq.


Lisa Thurlow, D.D.S.

At-Large Member

Meeting Schedule

Event Date/Time Location Type
Board of Directors Meeting Nov 16, 2017 2-3:30 PM REACH, Large Conference Room
6700 Antioch Road, Suite 200 Merriam, KS 66204
Board of Directors