# **REACH CAC Meeting Minutes**

Thursday, April 28, 2016 Milbourn Country Club 7501West 69th Street Overland Park, KS 66204

Attendees: Joan Cabell Jim Echols Addie Hawkins Kevin Klamm Denny Kurogi

Not Present: Pattie Miklos Boyd Marearl Denning

Guests: Georgeann Hemry, REACH Staff Shelly Phalen Todd Pleimann Jenny Rhodus Brenda Sharpe, Ex Officio Cecilia Ysaac

Angela Henry Eyster Ann Swarts

Pattie Mansur, REACH Staff

The April 28, 2016, CAC meeting was held at Milburn Country Club in Overland Park, KS as part of a social and dinner which began at 5:30 p.m. A group photo was taken prior to the start of the meeting to be included in the 2015 Annual Report and on the Foundation's website.

Chair Denny Kurogi called the business meeting to order at 6:45 p.m. He welcomed everyone and thanked them for attending.

### **Minutes**

The minutes of the February 11, 2016 meeting were reviewed. Todd Pleimann made a motion to approve the minutes as presented and Cecilia Ysaac seconded the motion. Motion carried.

### **CAC Chairman's Report**

Denny Kurogi announced the results of the recent 2016 Board election results. Terms begin on June 1, 2016 for newly-elected Board members: Arif Ahmed, Laura Bond, Angela Harse, Danielle Jones, and Lisa Thurlow. Vicki Hohenstein was re-elected. Denny then turned the meeting over to Brenda Sharpe.

### President's Report

Brenda Sharpe noted and thanked the following outgoing CAC members for their service to the Foundation.

# Marearl Denning, 2014-2016

Marearl was appointed by Governor Sam Brownback to the CAC in 2014. Marearl is heavily engaged in a number of Republican election campaigns at the local and state level. She is also an artist, specializing in photography and hand built coil & slab clay. Unfortunately Marearl was not able to join us for much of her term due to health issues, and will not be seeking a second term on the CAC. We certainly wish her well and thank her for her willingness to serve.

## Denny Kurogi, 2010-2016

Denny was appointed to the CAC by the Johnson County Commission in 2010 and served two full terms. Denny retired from Johnson County Community College as Assistant Dean, Emergency Medical Science in 2009. Denny leveraged his extensive contacts from his work in the healthcare field for over 40 years, and through his many years with the United Way and other community service organizations to recruit several members to the CAC's nominations process. Denny served the CAC in the role of Vice-Chair for two years, and Chair for the past year.

## Cecilia Ysaac Belmares, 2010-2016

Cecilia was appointed to the CAC in 2010 by the Unified Government of Wyandotte County/Kansas City, KS. Cecilia is an English and Spanish Language Interpreter and Translator in private practice, with many health care organizations and the courts as her clients. She Chaired the Kansas Hispanic and Latino Affairs Commission and serves on a number of other community Boards as well. Cecilia served two full terms on the CAC.

Cecelia and Denny have completed the maximum number of terms allowed by the Foundation's By-laws and are thus ineligible for reappointment.

Brenda noted that two current CAC members have been reappointed, each to three-year terms: Jim Echols by Governor Brownback and Angela Henry Eyster by Attorney General Schmidt. The Governor has one additional appointment to make, as do the Unified Government of Wyandotte County, Kansas City KS, and Johnson County Commissioners. These appointments will be pursued over the summer with the respective appointing authorities.

### **Other Business**

Denny Kurogi noted one business item that requires CAC action, the election of CAC officers for the ensuing year, June 1, 2016 to May 31, 2017. The following individuals expressed an interest in serving as a CAC officer, and appear on the slate of nominees: Addie Hawkins, Chair; Shelly Phalen, Vice-Chair, and Angela Henry Eyster, Secretary. Denny asked for any additional nominations from the floor. Hearing none, Denny accepted a motion from Kevin Klamm to accept the slate as presented. Todd Pleimann seconded the motion. Motion carried.

At 7:00 p.m., there being no further business, the meeting adjourned by consensus.

Respectfully submitted,

Georgeann Hemry Executive Assistant