## REACH CAC Meeting Minutes Thursday, April 23, 2015 Milbourn Country Club 7501West 69th Street Overland Park, KS 66204

Attendees: Jim Echols Angela Henry Eyster Heather Flick Vicki Hohenstein Denny Kurogi

Not Present: Marearl Denning Addie Hawkins

Guests: Georgeann Hemry, REACH Staff Pattie Mansur, REACH Staff Jon Marshall Todd Pleimann Jennifer Rhodus Brenda Sharpe, Ex Officio Cecilia Ysaac

Shelly Phalen Ann Swarts

Brad Stratton, REACH Board of Directors

The April 23, 2015 CAC meeting was held at Milburn Country Club in Overland Park, KS as part of a social and dinner that began at 5:30 p.m. A group photo was taken prior to the start of the meeting for the 2014 Annual Report.

Chair Heather Flick called the meeting to order at 6:42 p.m. Heather stated that tonight's event marked the end of another successful Board nominations cycle and gave us an opportunity to recognize outgoing CAC members.

## **Minutes**

The minutes of the February 26, 2015 meeting were reviewed. Cecilia Ysaac made a motion to approve them as presented and Todd Pleimann seconded the motion. Motion carried.

## CAC Chair Report

Heather Flick thanked the CAC members for attending and emphasized how important the committee is to the process of identifying and interviewing potential applicants for the REACH Board. On behalf of the Board of Directors, Brad Stratton also thanked all the CAC Committee members for their work on this nominations cycle. He noted that the CAC plays a critical role in identifying the future leadership and governance of the Foundation.

Heather turned the meeting over to Brenda Sharpe to report on the 2015 Board election results and to discuss an off-cycle vacancy on the Board that requires CAC action.

Brenda reported that the following applicants were elected to the REACH Board on March 26, with three-year terms beginning June 1, 2015: incumbents JC Cowden, Raymond Rico, and Rachelle Styles; and new Board members Heather Flick, Jon Marshall, and Tim Spilker.

Brenda then provided the following review of circumstances and options related to an off-cycle Board vacancy.

On April 7, 2015, REACH Board member Harold Johnson was elected to the District 4 opening with the Unified Government of Kansas City, KS/Wyandotte County. It is a compensated position and the Unified Government is an appointing authority to REACH, which represents a conflict of interest according to REACH's By-Laws. Harold was considered resigned from the REACH Board effective April 7, 2015, resulting in a vacancy with one-year remaining on his current term. His resignation also results in a vacancy on the Board's Finance and Audit Committee.

Following consultation with the Executive Committee and Lyle Pishny, REACH's Legal Counsel, Brenda provided an overview of three options for the CAC's consideration in order to provide qualified nominees to the Board to fill the remaining one year of Harold Johnson's term.

Option one would be to nominate the next two top vote getters in the CAC's most recent nominations process, Shawna Allen and Celeste Hendricks. Regarding this option, Brenda noted that although both Shawna and Celeste are well-qualified, the Executive Committee expressed some concern about neither candidate having a finance or investment background. Option two would be for the CAC to conduct an off-cycle nominations process over the summer. This process would involve soliciting and vetting additional candidates to be included on a slate of nominees along with Shawna and Celeste later this year. Option three would be to include current CAC member Vicki Hohenstein on the slate of nominees along with Shawna and Celeste. Vicki is currently the CAC Liaison to the Board's Finance and Audit Committee and has indicated a willingness to fulfill the remaining one year of the vacant term should she be elected. Vicki would be required to go through the normal nominations process next fall should she wish to seek an additional term on the Board. Brenda noted that in this scenario, the slate of nominees for the vacant position would be voted upon by the Board at the May 21, 2015 meeting. Discussion ensued.

Todd Pleimann made a motion to place Vicki Hohenstein's name on the slate of nominees, along with those of Shawna Allen and Celeste Hendricks in order to fill the remaining one-year on the term vacated by Harold Johnson. Cecilia Ysaac seconded the motion. Motion carried.

## **President's Report**

Brenda Sharpe noted that because Heather Flick and Jon Marshall were both elected to the REACH Board, two vacancies were created on the CAC. A Johnson County Commission appointee, Heather has completed one full term on the CAC, so the Foundation will be seeking a new appointee to replace her.

Jon Marshall had one year remaining on his second CAC term, so the Foundation will seek a replacement from the Allen County Commission who originally appointed Jon. All new appointments to the CAC are considered three-year terms in keeping with the Foundation's By-laws.

Jenny Rhodus, who completes her first three-year term next month, has indicated that she plans to seek a second term of appointment to the CAC by the Office of Governor Sam Brownback.

Addie Hawkins' initial appointment to the CAC was for a partial year of an unexpired term in 2012, and her second term of appointment in 2013 was for three years, so legal counsel concurs that she is still eligible to serve two more years if the Unified Government should wish to reappoint her to the CAC. Addie plans to pursue reappointment by the Unified Government.

Heather Flick asked Brenda Sharpe to provide an update on nominees for CAC officer positions. Brenda stated that the following individuals have offered to serve as CAC Officers for the 2015-2016 year: Denny Kurogi, Chair; Shelly Phalen, Vice Chair; and Angela Eyster, Secretary. Heather requested any additional nominations from the floor. Hearing none, Jenny Rhodus made a motion to adopt the slate of officers as presented. Todd Pleimann seconded the motion. Motion carried.

Heather reminded the members that the next CAC meeting will be August 27, 2015. At 7:10 p.m., there being no further business, Jon Marshall made a motion to adjourn the meeting. Vicki Hohenstein seconded the motion. Motion carried.

Respectfully submitted,

Georgeann Hemry Executive Assistant