MINUTES OF THE COMMUNITY ADVISORY COMMITTEE MEETING OF THE REACH HEALTHCARE FOUNDATION

April 18, 2013

| Members present: | Tom Burke Heather Flick Michelle Haley Addie Hawkins Andy Klocke | Denny Kurogi Jon Marshall Steve Scherer Cecilia Ysaac-Belmares Brenda Sharpe, Ex-Officio |
|------------------|---|--|
| Absent: | Vicki Hohenstein Georgia Masterson Jennifer Rhodus | |
| Guest present: | Bill Bruning, Board Chair Pattie Mansur, Communications Dire Georgeann Hemry, Executive Assista | |

The April 18, 2013 CAC meeting was held at Milburn Country Club in Overland Park, KS. The meeting took place during a social and dinner beginning at 5:30 p.m. to mark the end of another successful Board nominations cycle and to recognize outgoing CAC members. A CAC photo was taken prior to the start of the meeting.

Chair Andy Klocke called the meeting to order at 6:05 p.m. The minutes of the February 21, 2013 meeting were reviewed. A motion was made by Tom Burke and seconded by Heather Flick to approve the February minutes as presented. Motion carried.

Andy Klocke reported that Georgia Masterson has submitted her resignation from the CAC in order to avoid a conflict of interest. Georgia will soon be employed by THRIVE Allen County, a REACH grantee partner, and Georgia's salary will in part be covered by a REACH grant. Denny Kurogi moved to approve Georgia's resignation with regret, and Steve Scherer seconded the motion. Motion carried.

Andy reviewed the 2013 Board elections results and thanked the CAC members for their work in identifying a qualified slate of nominees. The following individuals were elected to three year terms beginning June 1, 2013. Syrtiller Kabat, Harold Johnson, Randy Lopez, Brad Stratton and Judy Works. Brenda reported that this was the first year the Board and CAC made use of the new by-laws provision allowing the Board to request a smaller slate of nominees, rather than prior years when the slate of nominees had to be double the number of vacancies. This allowed both the Board and the CAC to not have to turn down so many qualified and interested candidates, as well as

allowed all CAC members the opportunity to participate in each interview. Brenda reminded the CAC that last year the CAC interviewed 20 candidates to prepare a slate of 16 for 8 vacancies. This year we were able to interview eight candidates for a slate of 8 and 5 vacancies. Andy asked for feedback from the CAC on this new approach to the nominating process. Discussion ensued. CAC members indicated they were pleased with this approach and appreciated not having to decline so many talented prospects year after year. Next year's nomination process should be similar to this year in terms of number of vacancies, as we will have a number of incumbents eligible for second terms. Our intense work period will be January to March, as it has been in the past.

Andy asked Brenda to provide an update on CAC member appointments. Michelle Haley, a Governor's appointee, has concluded her term and she is not eligible for reappointment due to the two-term limit. Brenda presented Michelle with a plaque to thank her for her many years of service to the Foundation, both as a CAC member and a founding member of the Board of Directors. Michelle's background as a physician and proponent of patient-centered care for vulnerable populations has been instrumental in informing and guiding the Foundation's mission and programs over the past nine years.

Debra Mollahan, also a Governor's appointee, resigned earlier this spring, so the Governor will be making two appointments to begin three-year terms on June 1, 2013. Georgia Masterson's resigned term will be filled by the Attorney General. Denny Kurogi (Johnson County), Jon Marshall (Allen County) and Cecilia Ysaac-Belmares (Unified Government) are all eligible for second terms and are seeking reappointment from their respective county commissions. Those reappointments are all expected to be finalized by May 31, 2013.

Andy Klocke reported that the following individuals have offered to serve as CAC Officers for the 2013-2014 year: Heather Flick, Chair; Jon Marshall, Vice-Chair; and Vicki Hohenstein, Secretary. Andy requested any additional nominations from the floor. Hearing none, Steve Scherer made a motion seconded by Tom Burke to adopt the slate of officers as presented. Motion carried.

Andy noted that the next meeting of the CAC will be August 29, 2013 at 5:30 p.m. at the REACH offices. He asked for any other business for the good of the order. Hearing none, the meeting was adjourned at 7:00 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Brenda Sharpe President & CEO