## REACH CAC Meeting Minutes Thursday, August 28, 2014

Attendees: Marearl Denning Jim Echols (by phone) Angela Henry Eyster Heather Flick Addie Hawkins Vicki Hohenstein

Denny Kurogi (by phone) Jon Marshall Shelly Phalen Jennifer Rhodus Brenda Sharpe, Ex Officio Cecilia Ysaac

Not Present:

Ann Swarts

Guests: Georgeann Hemry, REACH Staff Pattie Mansur, REACH Staff

Brad Stratton, REACH Board of Directors

Chair Heather Flick called the meeting to order at 5:45 p.m. She then asked the members to briefly introduce themselves. Heather noted that one of our new members, Ann Swarts, was unable to attend due to a business trip.

## **Minutes**

The minutes of the April 27, 2014 meeting were reviewed. Cecilia Ysaac moved to approve as presented and Jenny Rhodus seconded the motion. Motion carried.

## **CAC Business & Responsibilities**

Heather Flick then reviewed the current Board Matrix and the Nominations Timeline materials in the meeting packet. The dates contained on the timeline are very important and members were asked to pencil them in on their respective calendars.

Brenda Sharpe stated that six Board vacancies are anticipated in 2015. Pattie Mansur will prepare a press release announcing the upcoming Board nominations process in October. It will be widely distributed to a number of traditional and nontraditional media outlets, trade associations, and community groups. The deadline for Statements of Interest is Thursday, December 18, 2014. CAC members are encouraged to make personal asks of colleagues and friends to encourage a diverse pool of applicants. At the next meeting of the CAC on Thursday, January 22, 2015, members will review all applicants and determine who they would like to interview. If anyone has a known conflict with the January 22 date, please let Heather or Brenda know as soon as possible because we want to ensure that a quorum is present for this important meeting.

The best potential candidates come from personal recruitment by our CAC members. Typically, the CAC decides to interview all potential candidates. However, if the CAC deems necessary, additional recruitment can take place following the January 22 meeting. For the time being, we will hold two dates for interviewing the candidates; February 13 and 20, 2015, here at REACH.

CAC Members will then reconvene on Thursday, February 26, 2015 at the Foundation's offices to discuss and score each candidate. An average ranking will be determined which will be used to determine which applicants will appear on the slate of nominees to be forwarded to the Board. Following the CAC's approval of the slate, the REACH CEO will conduct the required background checks on the candidates. The Board of Directors will meet with all nominees at a "meet and greet" reception in early March, and then will cast their individual ballots at their regular meeting in March. Those nominees who receive a super majority (2/3) vote of the Board will be elected. Brenda noted that she will contact all the nominees to provide them with the results of the election.

Brenda noted that currently, two board members will be termed out and thus ineligible to reapply, Bill Bruning and Chad Moore. However, Chad's second term was only a two-year term, and so the Board may elect to extend his term for an additional year.

Three incumbents are eligible for a second term—JC Cowden, Raymond Rico and Rachelle Styles. They will go through the same application process as all new candidates. One incumbent, Liz Wehlage, is ineligible to reapply due to a change in residency outside the Foundation's required geographic service area.

The Board has requested that the CAC consider the following priorities for recruitment: a resident of Cass or Lafayette Counties, oral health professionals, racially and ethnically diverse candidates, and candidates with finance and investment backgrounds.

Brenda mentioned that the Foundation's 2015 Grant Guidelines were included in the meeting materials for your information.

After a review of the proposed 2015 meeting calendar, the CAC's proposed Nominations Timeline was approved by consensus.

At 6:30 p.m., there being no further business, Cecilia Ysaac made a motion to adjourn the meeting, which was seconded by Addie Hawkins. Motion carried.

Respectfully submitted,

Georgeann Hemry Executive Assistant