MINUTES OF MEETING OF BOARD OF DIRECTORS OF THE REACH FOUNDATION May 19, 2011

Attendees:

Brenda Bohaty
Heidi Cashman
Pam Chapin
Ken Davis
Karen Gilpin
Scott Glasrud
Harold Johnson
Eve McGee
Anita Metoyer
Tim Michel
Chad Moore

Janie Schumaker Brenda Sharpe, ex-officio

Brad Stratton Judy Works

Not in Attendance:

Kumar Ethirajan Randy Lopez

Guests:

Becky Benak, REACH Staff
Carla Gibson, REACH Staff
Pattie Mansur, REACH Staff

Jo Yun, REACH Staff Tom Carrico, Board Member (June 2011)

The meeting was called to order at the Bowlus Fine Arts Center in Iola, Kansas by Scott Glasrud at 6:02 p.m. following a meet and greet with community members of Allen County. Scott thanked the members of the board for making the trip to Iola. The minutes of the March 17, 2011 meeting were reviewed. Brad Stratton pointed out that his name was listed twice in the minutes as an attendee and under not in attendance. Brad confirmed that he was absent from the March meeting. Ken Davis noted that his name was spelled incorrectly in the sixth paragraph of page three. Upon a motion by Janie Schumaker and a second by Karen Gilpin, the minutes were approved as amended.

Brenda Sharpe thanked the departing board members, Pam Chapin and Anita Metoyer, for their years of service to the REACH board. She shared a few comments about each member, and presented them with framed artwork from area mental health programs funded in part by grants from REACH. At-Large Members, Brenda Bohaty and Karen Gilpin, were presented with gifts in thanks for serving on the Executive Committee the past year.

Brenda Sharpe presented the President's report. The newly elected CAC officers are Andrew Klocke, Chair, Denny Kurogi, Vice Chair, and Michelle Haley, Secretary. Brenda announced the departing members of the CAC, including Mike Belzer, Nancy Maier, and Christie McReynolds. These members were recognized at the April 13, 2011 CAC meeting. Kansas Attorney General Derek Schmidt has recently named his appointments to the CAC and include Dr. Tom Burke and Georgia Masterson. The Johnson County Commission is considering reappointment of Dr. Steve Scherer for another three year term. Scott Glasrud, Janie Schumaker, and Tim Michel recently participated in the new board member orientation with Tom Carrico and George Pierson. Brenda thanked the officers for contributing their time, and welcomed Tom and George to the board. Brenda reported that a press release announcing the Accountable Care Act (ACA) Opportunity Fund was distributed to the board by email earlier in the day, and will soon be announced to the public. The ACA Fund was established by five health philanthropies, including REACH, Health Care Foundation of Greater Kansas City, Kansas Health Foundation, the Sunflower Foundation, and the United Methodist Health Ministry Fund. Organizations may apply online through the

Topeka Community Foundation's website for grants to support implementation of the federal health reform law. Sheldon Weisgrau was recently hired as the Project Director, and will be housed at KAMU (Kansas Association for the Medically Underserved). Brenda gave an update on the search for the Vice President of Programs, Policy and Evaluation. More than 60 applications were received for the position. Brenda conducted 14 phone interviews, ten one-on-one interviews, and staff conducted three group interviews. Scott and Janie will meet the finalist next week. Brenda will negotiate an offer following that meeting, and hopes to have the new hire on board by July 1, 2011. Brenda called attention to the upcoming events outlined in the packet. The Medical Home Summit, cosponsored by REACH with the Health Care Foundation, Blue Cross Blue Shield and the Kansas City Quality Improvement Consortium, will be held Wednesday, May 25, 2011 at the Kauffman Foundation. The Rural Philanthropy Conference, sponsored by the Council on Foundations, will be held in Kansas City this year in late July. The Foundation is sponsoring two scholarships per rural county in our service area. Karen Gilpin and July Works plan to attend on behalf of the board. Brenda also highlighted the Commonfund Regional Investment Seminar to be held in Chicago on September 14, 2011.

Officer elections were held for the two At-Large Member positions. The slate included Brad Stratton and Eve McGee. Scott called for nominations from the floor. There being none, Ken Davis moved to elect Brad Stratton and Eve McGee by acclamation as the two At-Large Members. Pam Chapin seconded the motion, and it passed unanimously.

Scott reviewed the items on the consent agenda, including the board officer job descriptions, February and March financials, internal control changes, and the VNA Citizen Assist Program transition grant. A question was raised about the meaning of "Ensuring the ethical standard" under the key responsibilities section of the Chair of the Board's job description. After brief discussion, by consensus the board decided to change the wording to "Ensuring high ethical standards." Ken Davis moved and Chad Moore seconded to approve all items on the consent agenda as amended.

Scott gave the Executive Committee report. The Committee had a rather light agenda at the April meeting, including updates on the ACA Fund and Vice President position search, a preview of the new website by Pattie Mansur, and board officer elections. The next Executive Committee meeting will be Tuesday, August 2, 2011 at 3:00 p.m.

Tim Michel gave the Treasurer's report. He reviewed the Financial Dashboard report as of March 31, 2011. Tim noted that the Foundation's investments as of March 31 were \$128 million, and April was a very good month with the investments exceeding \$130 million. The next Finance Committee meeting will be Tuesday, June 14, 2011 at 7:30 a.m.

Janie Schumaker gave the Program and Policy Committee report. Janie noted that the May staff discretionary grant summary was included in the packets for review. The next Cultural Competency Steering Committee meeting will be Wednesday, May 25, 2011 at 11:00 a.m. The next Program and Policy Committee meeting will be Tuesday, June 7, 2011 at 5:00 p.m.

The next Board meeting will be June 16, 2011 at 4:00 p.m. at REACH.

There being no further business, Brenda Bohaty moved to adjourn the meeting at 6:34 p.m., Brad Stratton seconded the motion, and it passed unanimously.

Respectfully submitted,

Heidi Cashman Secretary