REACH CAC Meeting Minutes Thursday, April 17, 2014

Attendees: Jim Echols Angela Henry Eyster Heather Flick Addie Hawkins Andy Klocke

Denny Kurogi Jon Marshall Jennifer Rhodus Brenda Sharpe, Ex Officio

Not Present: Tom Burke Vicki Hohenstein

Steve Scherer Cecilia Ysaac

Guests: Georgeann Hemry, REACH Staff Pattie Mansur, REACH Staff

Brad Stratton, REACH Board of Directors Judy Works, REACH Board of Directors

The April 17, 2014 meeting of the CAC was held at Paulo and Bill's Restaurant in Shawnee Kansas, and included a special dinner to recognize outgoing members and celebrate the conclusion of another successful Board nominations process. Chair Heather Flick called the meeting to order at 6:32 p.m. She then asked attendees to briefly introduce themselves by sharing something that the others would not know about them.

Minutes

The minutes of the February 27, 2014 meeting were reviewed. Denny Kurogi moved to approve as presented and Jenny Rhodus seconded the motion. Motion carried.

CAC Business & Responsibilities

Heather reviewed the 2014 Board election results and thanked the CAC members for their work in identifying a qualified slate of nominees. The following individuals were elected to three-year terms beginning June 1, 2014: Dana Abraham, Tom Carrico, Linda Hall, Andy Klocke, Stuart Munro, and David Thomas. She then turned the meeting over to Brenda Sharpe.

Brenda reported that Andy Klocke will resign from the CAC effective May 31 since he has been newlyelected to the REACH Board; his term begins June 1. She then thanked Andy and recognized his years of service on the CAC by presenting him with an engraved plaque stating his years of service on the Committee.

The terms of both Tom Burke and Steve Scherer will expire at the end of May. Tom has decided not to pursue a second term on the CAC, and Steve has reached his maximum number of terms. Neither was able to attend tonight's meeting, so they will be recognized instead at the May 15 Board meeting. Brenda will be working with the various appointing authorities over the next several weeks to fill any vacancies.

Brenda announced we have a new appointee to the CAC. Marearl Denning was appointed by Governor Sam Brownback to a three-year term beginning June 1. She will fill the term vacated by Debra Mollohan in 2012.

The next item on the Agenda was consideration of the proposed CAC slate of officers. Heather Flick reported that the following individuals have offered to continue to serve in their current roles as CAC Officers for the 2014-2015 year: Heather Flick, Chair; Jon Marshall, Vice-Chair; and Vicki Hohenstein, Secretary. Heather requested any additional nominations from the floor. Hearing none, Andy Klocke made a motion that the slate of officers be adopted as presented. Angela Henry-Eyster seconded the motion. Motion carried.

Brenda Sharpe introduced Brad Stratton, who has been recommended to the Executive Committee as the next Chair of the REACH Board effective June 1. Board officer elections will be held on May 15. Brad thanked the CAC for all their efforts in securing a qualified slate of candidates for the Board positions. He very much appreciated everyone's due diligence and noted the difficulty the Board had again this year in choosing new members from a pool of qualified individuals.

Heather Flick reminded members that the next CAC meeting will be several months away, on Thursday, August 28 at the REACH offices at 5:30 p.m.

At 6:50 p.m., there being no further business, Andy Klocke made a motion to adjourn the meeting, which was seconded by Jon Marshall. Motion carried.

Respectfully submitted,

Georgeann Hemry Executive Assistant