THE REACH HEALTHCARE FOUNDATION COMMUNITY ADVISORY COMMITTEE MEETING MINUTES

FEBRUARY 17, 2010

Members present: Dana Abraham Mike Belzer

Pat Caruthers
Evie Hagerman
Michelle Haley
Andy Klocke
Christie McReynolds
Brenda Sharpe, Ex-Officio
Brad Stratton
Jeffery Dysart
Michelle Haley
Nancy Maier
J. D. Rios
Steve Scherer
Judy Works

Guests present: Pattie Mansur, REACH Staff

Karen Moore, REACH Staff

Tom Robinett, REACH Board Chair

Minutes

Chair Evie Hagerman called the meeting to order at 5:46 p.m. following a group photograph.

The minutes of the January 21, 2010 meetings were reviewed. Steve Scherer moved to approve the minutes, Mike Belzer seconded the motion, and the minutes were approved.

CAC Business and Responsibilities

Brenda Sharpe reviewed the discussion and slate selection process, which will be to review the interview notes in closed session with a brief discussion on each candidate, including feedback from the CAC interviewers. Afterwards, the CAC will return to open session, and CAC members will rate candidates a maximum of five points on each of the four criteria: resume, written statement or peer evaluation, interview and interview feedback, and skill set. The number of points each nominee receives will be recorded on the ballot form, with the maximum point number being 20. CAC members who are also candidates for the Board will abstain from voting for themselves. All ballots will be recorded, and the rank score will be determined by averaging the total number of points divided by the number of CAC members voting. The candidates with the top 16 scores will become the slate of Board nominees.

Evie Hagerman reminded the CAC of Board expertise and representation needs for the 2010 cycle, which include racial and ethnic diversity; geographic diversity, especially Wyandotte, Jackson and Allen Counties; emerging leaders; healthcare providers; and finance and investment expertise.

At 5:50 p.m., J.D. Rios motioned to adjourn to executive session for 60 minutes for the purposes of discussing Board candidates. Steve Scherer seconded the motion. At 6:50 p.m., J.D. motioned to continue executive session for an additional 60 minutes, and Mike Belzer seconded the motion.

At 7:45 p.m., Nancy Maier motioned to return to open session. Michelle Haley seconded the motion, and it was approved.

When the CAC returned to open session, ballots were distributed. When the results were tabulated, Steve Scherer motioned to approve the top 16 ranked candidates of Dana Abraham, David Cook, Ana-Paula Cupertino, Niki Lee Donawa, Maithe Enriquez, Sukumar Ethirajan, Scott Glasrud, Brooke Grant, Harold Johnson, Melinda Lewis, Randy Lopez, Eve McGee, Chad Moore, Rita

Rodgers-Stanley, Brad Stratton and Judy Works as the slate of Board nominees. Jeffery Dysart seconded the motion, which was unanimously approved.

President's Report

Brenda Sharpe asked CAC members interested in serving as a CAC Officer beginning June 1, 2010, please contact either herself or Evie Hagerman. CAC officer elections will be held at the next CAC meeting, when a new chair, vice chair and secretary will be elected. Additionally, Tom Robinett asked that CAC members interested in serving as the CAC representative on either the Grants Committee or Finance Committee to contact him. Those terms will also begin on June 1, 2010.

Evie Hagerman noted the next CAC meeting will be held Wednesday, April 14, 2010 at 5:30 p.m., with the focus of the meeting being a review of this year's nominations process, elections of CAC officers and recognition of CAC members whose terms are expiring. There being no further business, the meeting was adjourned at 8:15 p.m.

Respectfully submitted, Nancy Maier Secretary