REACH Foundation Board Elects Six Members

News Release

MERRIAM, KANSAS – The REACH Healthcare Foundation Board of Directors elected six members at its March 26 meeting including three incumbents eligible for a second term and three new members.

The REACH Foundation provides grants and other resources to nonprofit organizations working to improve access to quality, affordable health services for uninsured and medically underserved people. The foundation’s philanthropy is focused in a six-county service area that includes Cass, Jackson and Lafayette counties in Missouri, and Allen, Johnson and Wyandotte counties in Kansas.

The following individuals were elected to serve three-year terms that begin June 1:

John Cowden, MD, is Associate Professor, Pediatrics, at the University of Missouri-Kansas City School of Medicine, and Staff Physician at Children’s Mercy Hospitals and Clinics and Medical Director of Children’s Mercy’s Office of Equity and Diversity. His research interests include provider-patient communication, provider bias and access to health care for minorities. Cowden attended Yale University School of Medicine and completed a pediatric residency at Seattle Children’s Hospital. He earned a Master of Public Health at the University of Washington. He was elected to a second term on the REACH Board.

Heather Flick, RDH, is a Professor of Dental Hygiene at Johnson County Community College and Project Coordinator of Oral Health on Wheels, a mobile dental program. She brings expertise in oral health access issues, dental hygiene practice opportunities and workforce options. Flick is a member of the Kansas Department of Health and Environment’s Dental Workforce Cabinet. She completed a Master of Public Health at the Kansas University School of Medicine and a Master of Science in Dental Hygiene Education at the University of Missouri-Kansas City. She is beginning her first term on the REACH Board.

Jon Marshall is Vice President for Academic Affairs at Allen County Community College in Iola, serving the college since 2008. He previously served as Dean of Humanities and College Readiness at Normandale Community College in Bloomington, Minnesota, and as Dean of Communications and Mathematics at St. Louis Community College-Meramec. Marshall is the president of the Kansas Council of Instructional Administrators, representing Chief Academic officers of 26 two-year colleges, and chair of the Kansas Board of Regents’ System Council of Chief Academic Officers. He earned Master of Arts and Fine Arts degrees from the University of Missouri-St. Louis. He is beginning his first term on the REACH Board.

Raymond Rico, JD, is an Associate Attorney at Garcia Immigration Law Firm in Kansas City, Kansas, where he manages a caseload of more than 100 clients. Rico is active in immigration policy and advocacy through the Hispanic Affairs Commission in Topeka and the Kansas/Missouri DREAM Alliance. Rico earned a Juris Doctorate at the University of Missouri-Kansas City School of Law. He was elected to a second term on the REACH Board.

Tim Spilker is CEO of UnitedHealthcare Community Plan, leading programs and operations for the Kansas health plan serving 125,000 Medicaid beneficiaries. Spilker previously was Vice President of Member Engagement in Minneapolis, and directed programs and operations for the company’s health plan in Nebraska. Spilker completed a Master of Business Administration at Harvard Business School.

Rachelle Styles is a Tax Manager for J.E. Dunn Construction Co., with responsibility for federal, state and local tax matters for the company. She previously worked in public accounting as a corporate tax accountant. Styles is a member of the United Way Young Leaders Society and alumnus of the Kansas City Chamber’s Centurions Leadership Program. She earned a Master of Accountancy at the University of Missouri-Columbia. Styles was elected to a second term on the REACH Board.

Information on the REACH Foundation Board, including core responsibilities, a roster of members and application information is available on the About the Board section of the website. The deadline to apply for the 2016 selection process is December 17, 2015.