REACH Foundation Board Elects Eight Members

March 26, 2012  |  Foundation News  | Download File

Foundation News Release

MERRIAM, KANSAS – The REACH Healthcare Foundation Board of Directors elected eight members to the Board at its March 22 meeting. The REACH Foundation is a charitable organization that provides grants and other support to improve health care and health access. The Foundation is governed by a 17-member volunteer Board of Directors. The following individuals were elected to serve three-year terms that begin June 1.

Bill Bruning, principal of The Bruning Company, is an attorney with health policy expertise and former president and CEO of the Mid-America Coalition of Health Care. He is co-chair of the American Psychiatric Association Partnership for Workplace Mental Health Advisory Council. Bruning has served one term on the REACH Board.

John Cowden, M.D., Interim Section Chief and Staff Physician of General Pediatrics at Children’s Mercy Hospitals & Clinics, and Assistant Professor, Pediatrics, University of Missouri-Kansas City School of Medicine. Cowden also serves as Medical Director of Children’s Mercy’s Office of Equity and Diversity.

Chad Moore, Director of Operations for Children’s Mercy Pediatric Care Network (CMPCN), a network that coordinates the medical care of pediatric patients in the Greater Kansas City area who are enrolled in managed care. Moore has served one term on the REACH Board.

J. Stuart Munro, M.D., Chair of Psychiatry at the University of Missouri-Kansas City School of Medicine, and Medical Director and Associate Dean for the Center for Behavioral Medicine. Munro is President-elect of the American Association of Chairs of Departments of Psychiatry.

Raymond Rico, an attorney with Garcia Immigration Law Firm in Kansas City, Kansas. Rico previously worked as policy and research associate for the National Immigration Law Center in Washington, D.C.

Janie Schumaker is Service Leader of Emergent/ Urgent Services at Heartland Regional Medical Center in St. Joseph, Mo., responsible for managing performance targets. She previously worked in performance improvement at T-System, Inc. Schumaker has served one term on the REACH Board.

Rachelle Styles, tax manager for J.E. Dunn Construction Company, serves as corporate liaison for the company’s tax requirements and as corporate federal and state government tax correspondent. Styles is a graduate of the Greater Kansas City Chamber of Commerce Centurions Leadership program.

Elizabeth Wehlage, a registered dental hygienist at the Community Health Center of Southeast Kansas in Iola, with responsibility for patient care and dental outreach services. Wehlage is a member of Class V of the Oral Health Kansas Dental Champions program 

Each year, the REACH Board seeks to elect members who bring demographic and geographic diversity as well as leadership skills and business, nonprofit and health care expertise. To be eligible, individuals must be at least 18 years of age and reside in the Foundation’s six-county service area. Members also may not hold elected federal, state or local office. Information on the REACH Foundation Board, including core responsibilities, a roster of members and application information is available at The deadline to apply for 2013 is December 14, 2012.


About the Foundation:  The REACH Foundation awards grants to nonprofit organizations in a six-county area encompassing Allen, Johnson and Wyandotte counties in Kansas; Cass, Jackson and Lafayette counties in Missouri, and Kansas City, Missouri. The Foundation has invested more than $33 million in grants and initiatives in the region since 2005.